Sunday, April 15, 2012

I Am Legend gets further glory

The World Horror Convention and Bram Stoker Awards ceremony hit Salt Lake City a couple weeks ago. Yes, I wanted to be there. No, it didn't work out.

That's life, eh?

That doesn't mean I can't share with you the results of the awards.

Novel: Flesh Eaters by Joe McKinney (Pinnacle Books)
First Novel: Isis Unbound by Allyson Bird (Dark Regions Press)
Long Fiction: “The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine” by Peter Straub (Conjunctions: 56)
Short Fiction: “Herman Wouk Is Still Alive” by Stephen King (The Atlantic Magazine, May 2011)
Anthology: Demons: Encounters with the Devil and his Minions, Fallen Angels and the Possessed edited by John Skipp (Black Dog and Leventhal)
Young Adult Novel (tie): The Screaming Season by Nancy Holder (Razorbill)
Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
Fiction Collection: The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares by Joyce Carol Oates (Mysterious Press)
Nonfiction: Stephen King: A Literary Companion by Rocky Wood (McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers)
Graphic Novel: Neonomicon by Alan Moore (Avatar Press)
Screenplay: American Horror Story, episode #12: “Afterbirth” by Jessica Sharzer (20th Century Fox Television)
Poetry Collection: How to Recognize a Demon Has Become Your Friend by Linda Addison (Necon Ebooks)
Vampire Novel of the Century: Richard Matheson for his modern classic I Am Legend
Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Hautala and Joe R. Lansdale
The Silver Hammer Award: Guy Anthony De Marco
Richard Laymon President's Award: Karen Lansdale
Specialty Press Award: Derrick Hussey of Hippocampus Press and Roy Robbins of Bad Moon Books
Couple things I want to point out. First, big props to Joe R. and Karen Lansdale. They've been a huge part of the Horror Writers Association since the beginning and deserve every accolade possible.

Second, I want you to look at the category called "Vampire Novel of the Century." See who won? Yep, Richard Matheson's I Am Legend. And rightly so. In terms of influence, I Am Legend is the 20th century Dracula. Not to be argued.

Next year, don't be surprised if "The Cabin in the Woods" wins the screenplay award.

I probably won't make it to the next big convention in my area, Crypticon, over Memorial Day weekend in Seattle. If you are going and would like to be an official Warning Signs correspondent, let me know.

No comments:

Post a Comment